Johnstown, Co. Wexford, Ireland
Teagasc - the National Agriculture & Food Development Authority of Ireland
Conservation + Regeneration; Community + Cultural; Public Sector
Area: Circa 55 hectares; Gross floor-Space of Visitor Centre: 1,050m2; Castle Internal: 2,497m2; Carpark: 6,983m2
2016 - Ongoing
900 Years of History - the New Visitor Destination Will Continue the Celebration of the Castle for Generations to Come
Johnstown Castle was built by the Esmonde family who came to County Wexford in 1169 - with the castle, gardens, lakes, and grounds developing over the next nine centuries into the estate that we have today. The walled gardens and hothouses, covering 4 acres, date to 1844 -1851 and retain their early design today. Pathways throughout the grounds meander through the woodland garden and around the lakes. The sunken garden is now a picnic area located close to the car park.
The new Johnstown Castle & Gardens Visitors Centre development will include visitor experience/museum, contain kitchen, restaurant, retail, sanitary accommodation and ancillary accommodation, site works and External Hard & Soft Landscaped Areas including Seating Areas, necessary adjustments to the Irish Agricultural Museum building.
The development will also include: Carparking, Playground, Woodland Play / Activity Areas, Pet Farm, internal road network and pathways / circulation routes through existing woodlands and associated parklands. Change of Use of Johnstown Castle, a Protected Structure WCC0685, to accommodate tourism, museum, civil ceremonies, public event activities, commercial activities, heritage activities, inclusive of offices, archive, staff facilities and associated uses.
All the above works are in addition to the construction of two new road entrances from the Murntown Road, and the construction of a new internal road network feeding the EPA Offices and Johnstown Castle / Teagasc facilities.
Read more about the project, on The Irish Times website, at: Restoration at Wexford’s fairy tale Johnstown Castle.
C.J. Falconer & Associates Architects,
St. Patrick's House, Newtown, Waterford,
X91 RR76, Ireland.
t: +353 (0)51 878888
With Offices in:
For project updates and news, sign up to
our email newsletter.